Circular to all the Federations

of the International Association of Workers

The Sonvilier Circular

(12 November 1871)



This is an important albeit not well known document. It deals with the authoritarian tendencies of the General Council of the International under the influence of Karl Marx.

In this Circular we find clearly expressed the differences between the anarchists of the Jura Federation and the Marxists of the London branch of the International. The bone of contention is the fact that for the former the emancipation of the workers should be accomplished by the workers themselves and not, as implicitly advocated by the latter, by their representatives through the conquest of the political power of the State.

In this respect the anarchists have foreseen, much better than the Marxists, the nefarious consequences of concentrating the efforts for emancipation on the political struggle.

The following year (1872) at The Hague Congress, Marx and his followers will succeed in expelling the anarchists from the International and this will mark the end of a European social revolution and its transformation into a political electoral fight at the national level.

P.S. This text is translated from the French original taken from James Guillaume, L'Internationale, Documents et Souvenirs (1864-1878). Some parts are from the English version made at that time. That version was different from the French one and presented already, in the wording, tendencies towards centralization and homogenization. For instance, while the French text refers to a “General Council” the English version uses the expression “Central Council.”



The undersigned delegates, representing a group of Sections of the International that have just constituted themselves under the name of Fédération Jurassienne, turn, by way of the present circular, to all the Federations of the International Association of Workers, and ask them to join in demanding the convocation, with the shortest possible delay, of a General Congress.

We are presenting in a few words the reasons that make us claim this measure, absolutely necessary in order to stop our great organization from being pushed, without realizing it, in a ruinous direction, at the end of which its fate would be dissolution.

When the International Worker's Association was created, a General Council was set up whose function, according to the statutes, was that of serving as Central Bureau of correspondence between the Sections, but which was not delegated any authority whatsoever, which would have been contrary to the very essence of the International, which is only an immense protest against authority.

The attributions of the General Council are also precisely defined by the following articles of the General Statutes and of the General Regulations:

“General Statutes. Art. 3. - A general Council is set up composed of workers representing the different nations that are part of the International Association. The General Council comprises, according to the needs of the Association, the members of the bureau like the president, the general secretary, the treasurer and the specific secretaries for the different countries. “Every year, the Congress will meet and decide the location of the General Council, will elect its members, leaving to it the right of adding supplementary members, and will choose the place of the next meeting.”

“When the time arrives for holding the Congress, and without the need for a special convocation, the delegates will convene in the place and at the date fixed. In the presence of extraordinary circumstances, the General Council can change the place of the Congress, without however changing the date.”

“Art. 4. - On its annual meeting, the General Congress shall receive a public account of the annual transactions of the Central Council. In cases of urgency it may convoke the General Congress before the regular term.”

“Art. 5. - The Central Council shall form an international agency between the different co-operating associations, so that the working men in one country are constantly informed of the movement of their class in every other country; that an inquiry into the social state of the different countries of Europe are made simultaneously and under a common direction; that the questions of general interest moved in one Society are considered by all; and that, when immediate practical steps should be needed, as, for instance, in case of international quarrels, the actions of the associated societies are simultaneous and uniform. Whenever it seems opportune, the Central Council shall take the initiative of proposals to be laid before the different national or local Societies.”

“The General Council will publish a bulletin in order to facilitate communication with the corresponding sections.”

“Regulations. - First Article. - The General Council is mandated to execute the resolutions of the Congress.”

“To this aim, it will collect all the documents that the different sections of the different countries have sent to it and those that it will be able to get through other channels.”

“It is responsible for organizing the Congress and making the programme known to all the Sections, by way of the corresponding bureau of the different countries.”

“Art. 2. - The General Council will publish, as much and as frequently as its means allow, a bulletin dealing with all the topics that are of some interest to the International Association: labour supply and demand in the different localities; cooperative societies; situation of the working classes in every country, etc.”

The General Council was based for the first year in London, for various reasons; it was from the meeting held in London that first came about the idea of the International; moreover, London offered better security, with respect to other European cities, concerning personal rights.

In the subsequent Congresses of the International, in Lausanne (1867) and Brussels (1868), the General Council was confirmed in London. With reference to its composition, all those who have taken part in a General Congress know how things happened: the vote was on the basis of trusting the lists presented to the Congress, and in those lists the majority of the names were of people unknown to the delegates. The trust was so high, that the General Council was also given permission to add members according to its wishes; and, by way of this disposition, the appointment of the General Council by the Congress became illusory. In fact, the Council could add, afterwards, other members that might completely modify the majority and trends.

At the Basel Congress, the trust was so blind that it became a sort of voluntary abdication in the hands of the General Council. Through administrative resolutions they injured, without much noticing it, the spirit and the letter of the General Statutes, where the autonomy of each Section, each group of Sections was so clearly proclaimed. See for instance:

Administrative resolutions taken at Basel: Resolution IV. - The General Council has the right to suspend, until the next Congress, a Section of the International.”

Resolution VII. When quarrels arise between societies or branches of a national group, or between groups of different nationalities, the General Council has the right to decide about the different positions, leaving the door open to an appeal to the next Congress, which will make the final decision.”

In this way a dangerous amount of power was put in the hands of the General Council, without realising the consequences.

If there is one incontrovertible fact, borne out a thousand times by experience, it is that authority has a corrupting effect on those in whose hands it is placed. It is absolutely impossible for a man with power over his neighbours to remain a moral man.

The General Council was no exception to this inescapable law. Made up for five years running of the same personnel, re-elected time after time, and endowed by the Basel resolutions with very great power over the Sections, it ended up looking upon itself as the legitimate leader of the International. In the hands of a few individuals, the mandate of General Council members has turned into something akin to a personal possession and they have come to see London as our Association’s immovable capital. Little by little, these men, who are not our representatives — and most of them are not even regularly mandated by us, not having been elected by a Congress — these men, we say, accustomed to walking in front of us and speaking on our behalf, have, by the natural flow of things and the very force of this situation, been induced to try to foist their own special program, their own particular ideas upon the International. Having, in their own eyes, become a sort of government, it was natural that their own particular ideas should have come to appear to them as the official theory enjoying exclusive rights within the Association; whereas divergent ideas issuing from other groups struck them, not as the legitimate manifestation of an opinion every bit as tenable as their own, but rather out-and-out heresy.

And so, gradually, a London-based orthodoxy has evolved, its representatives the members of the General Council; and soon the Council’s correspondents for each country set themselves the task, not of serving as neutral and disinterested intermediaries between the various Federations, but of performing as apostles of the orthodox doctrine, seeking out disciples for it and serving sectional interests to the detriment of the overall interests of the Association.

What was the inevitable outcome of all this? The General Council naturally ran into opposition along the new course upon which it had embarked. Irresistible logic forced it into trying to break that opposition. Hence the struggles that have begun and, with them, the personal intimacies and factional manoeuvres. The General Council becomes a hotbed of intrigue; opponents are shouted down and vilified: in the end, warfare, open warfare, erupts within the ranks of our Association.

Since the Basel Congress in 1869, the General Congress of the Association has not been convened, and the General Council found itself left on its own during the last two years. The Franco-German war has been the reason for the absence of a Congress in 1870 and 1871. The Congress has been replaced by a secret Conference summoned by the General Council even if the Statues did not give it this power. This secret Conference, that certainly didn't grant a full representation of the International, as many Sections, ours included, were not informed; this Conference whose majority was manipulated from the start because the General Council had taken the licence of admitting six delegates elected by it with the right to vote; this Conference which absolutely could not pretend to be invested of the rights entitled to a Congress, has nevertheless taken some resolutions which gravely infringe the General Statutes and intends to transform the International, from a free Federation of autonomous Sections, to an hierarchical and authoritarian organization composed of disciplined Sections placed under the power of a General Council which can, at its own mercy, deny their admission or even suspend their activity. And, to crown all this, a decision taken at this Conference, establishes that the General Council will fix the date and the place of the next Congress or of the Conference which will replace it. In this way we are threatened with the suppression of the General Congresses, these large public conventions of the International, and their substitution with secret Conferences similar to the one just held in London.

In the presence of this situation, what should we do? We are not accusing the General Council of criminal intent. The personalities who make it up have found themselves succumbing to a fatal necessity: in good faith and to ensure the success of their own particular doctrine, they have sought to introduce the authority principle into the International; circumstances appeared to encourage this tendency and it strikes us as quite natural that this school, whose ideal is the conquest of political power by the working class, in the wake of recent developments, should have thought that the International should amend its original organization and become a hierarchical organization directed and governed by a Committee.

But while we can understand such tendencies and such actions we are nonetheless compelled to combat them, on behalf of the Social Revolution, which we pursue, and its program: “Emancipation of the workers by the workers themselves,” free of all directing authority, even should that authority be elected and endorsed by the workers.

We ask for the retention within the International of that principle of autonomy of the Sections which has been the basis of our Association thus far; we ask that the General Council, whose powers have been rendered unnatural by the Basel Congress’ administrative resolutions, should revert to its natural function, which is the function of a simple correspondence and statistical bureau; and we seek to found the unity some aim to build upon centralization and dictatorship, upon a free federation of autonomous groups.

The society of the future should be nothing other than the universalisation of the organization with which the International will have endowed itself. We must, therefore, be careful to ensure that this organization comes as close as possible to our ideal. How can we expect an egalitarian and free society to emerge from an authoritarian organization? Impossible. The International, as the embryo of the human society of the future, is required in the here and now to faithfully mirror our principles of freedom and federation and shun any principle leaning towards authority and dictatorship.

Our conclusion is that a General Congress of the Association must be summoned without delay.

Long live the International Working Men’s Association!

Sonvilier, 12 November 1871



The delegates to the Congress of the Fédération Jurassienne


Henri DEVENOGES, Léon SCHWITZGUÉBEL, delegates of the central Section of the district of Courtelary;

Fritz TSCHUJ, Justin GUERBER, delegates of the Circle of social studies of Sonvilier;

Christian HOFER, delegate of the Section of Moutier-Grandval;

Frédéric GRAISIER, Auguste SPICHIGER, delegates of the central Section of Le Locle ;

Nicolas JOUKOVSKY, Jules GUESDE, delegates of the Section of propaganda and revolutionary socialist action of Genève;

Charles CHOPARD, Alfred JEANRENAUD, delegates of the Section of the engravers and steel cutters of the district of Courtelary;

Numa BRANDT, delegate of the Section of propaganda of La Chaux-de-Fonds;

James GUILLAUME, A. DUPUIS, delegates of the central Section of Neuchâtel;

A. SCHEUNER, Louis CARTIER, delegates of the Circle of social studies of Saint Imier.


[Home] [Top]

Circulaire à toutes les Fédérations


de l’Association internationale des travailleurs


ou
La Circulaire de Sonvilier

Sonvilier
(12 Novembre 1871)

 



Note

Ce fameux document, actuellement pas trop connu, présente en termes très clairs l’involution autoritaire  dans la quel s’enfonçait l'Association internationale des travailleurs sous la direction du Conseil général de Londres dominé par Karl Marx.
Dans cette circulaire on trouve surtout le motif de différentiation entre les anarchistes de la Fédération jurassienne et les marxistes autoritaires qui consiste dans le fait, souligné par les extenseurs du document, que l'émancipation des travailleurs ne passe pas à travers « la conquête du pouvoir politique par la classe ouvrière » comme soutenu par le Conseil général. Les membres de la courante libertaire de l’Internationale prévoyaient déjà toutes les conséquences autoritaires que cette ligne d’action aurait emmené en futur.
Malheureusement l’année suivante (1872) au Congrès de La Haye, Marx réussira à expulser de l’Internationale les anarchistes et cela marquera la fin de la révolution sociale à l’échelle Européenne, et sa transformation dans une lutte politique électorale à base nationale.

 


 

Les délégués soussignés, représentant un groupe de Sections de l'Internationale qui vient de se constituer sous le nom de Fédération jurassienne, s'adressent, par la présente circulaire, à toutes les Fédérations de l'Association internationale des travailleurs, et leur demandent de se joindre à elles pour provoquer la convocation, a bref délai, d'un Congrès général.

Nous allons exposer en peu de mots quelles sont les raisons qui nous font réclamer cette mesure, absolument nécessaire pour empêcher notre grande Association d'être entraînée, à son insu, sur une pente funeste, au bout de laquelle elle trouverait la dissolution.

Lors de la création de l'Association internationale des travailleurs, il fut institué un Conseil général qui devait, aux termes des statuts, servir de bureau central de correspondance entre les Sections, mais auquel ne fut déléguée absolument aucune autorité, ce qui eût d'ailleurs été contraire à l'essence même de l'Internationale, qui n'est qu'une immense protestation contre l'autorité.

Les attributions du Conseil général sont du reste nettement définies par les articles suivants des Statuts généraux et du Règlement général:

« Statuts généraux. - ART. 3. - Il est établi un Conseil général se composant de travailleurs représentant les différentes nations faisant partie de l'Association internationale. Il prendra dans son sein, selon les besoins de l’Association, les membres du bureau, tels que président, secrétaire général, trésorier et secrétaires particuliers pour les différents pays. « Tous les ans, le Congrès réuni indiquera le siège du Conseil général, nommera ses membres, en lui laissant le droit de s'adjoindre des membres supplémentaires, et choisira le lieu de la prochaine réunion.

« A l'époque fixée pour le Congrès, et sans qu'il soit nécessaire d'une convocation spéciale, les délégués se réuniront de plein droit aux lieu et jour désignés. En cas de force majeure, le Conseil général pourra changer le lieu du Congrès, sans en changer toutefois la date. 

« ART. 4. - A chaque Congrès annuel, le Conseil général publiera un rapport des travaux de l’année. En cas d'urgence, il pourra convoquer le Congrès avant le terme fixé.

« ART. 5. - Le Conseil général établira des relations avec les différentes associations ouvrières, de telle sorte que les ouvriers de chaque pays soient constamment au courant du mouvement de leur classe dans les autres pays; qu'une enquête sur l'état social soit faite simultanément et dans un même esprit; que les questions proposées par une Société, et dont la discussion est d'un intérêt général, soient examinées par toutes, et que, lorsqu'une idée pratique ou une difficulté internationale réclamera l'action de l'Association, celle-ci puisse agir d'une manière uniforme. Lorsque cela lui semblera nécessaire, le Conseil général prendra l'initiative des propositions à soumettre aux sociétés locales ou nationales.

« Il publiera un bulletin pour faciliter ses communications avec les bureaux correspondants.

« Règlement. - ARTICLE PREMIER. - Le Conseil général est obligé d'exécuter les résolutions du Congrès.

« Il rassemble dans ce but tous les documents que les bureaux correspondants des différents pays lui enverront et ceux qu'il pourra se procurer par une autre voie.

« Il est chargé d'organiser le Congrès et de porter son programme à la connaissance de toutes les Sections, par l'intermédiaire des bureaux correspondants des différents pays.

« ART. 2. - Le Conseil général publiera, autant et aussi souvent que ses moyens le lui permettront, un bulletin qui embrassera tout ce qui peut intéresser l'Association internationale: offre et demande de travail dans les différentes localités; sociétés coopératives; état des classes laborieuses dans tous les pays, etc. »

Le Conseil général fut placé pour la première année à Londres, pour plusieurs motifs: c'était d'un meeting tenu a Londres qu'était sortie l'idée première de l'Internationale; puis Londres offrait plus de sécurité que les autres villes de l'Europe, sous le rapport dés garanties individuelles.

Dans les Congrès subséquents de l'Internationale, à Lausanne (1867) et à Bruxelles (1868), le Conseil général fut confirmé à Londres. Quant à sa composition, tous ceux qui ont assisté aux Congrès généraux savent comment la chose se passait: on votait de confiance les listes qui étaient présentées au Congrès, et qui portaient en majorité des noms absolument inconnus aux délégués. La confiance allait si loin, que la faculté était même laissée au Conseil  général de s'adjoindre qui bon lui semblerait; et, par cette disposition des statuts, la nomination du Conseil général par le Congres devenait illusoire. En effet, le Conseil pouvait, après coup, s'adjoindre tout un personnel qui en aurait modifié complètement la majorité et les tendances.

Au Congrès de Bâle, la confiance aveugle atteignit jusqu'à une sorte d'abdication volontaire entre les mains du Conseil général. Au moyen de résolutions administratives, on porta atteinte, sans trop s'en apercevoir, à l'esprit et à la lettre des Statuts généraux, où l'autonomie de chaque Section, de chaque groupe de Sections était si clairement proclamée. Qu'on en juge:

« Résolutions administratives de Bâle. - Résolution VI. - Le Conseil général a le droit de suspendre, jusqu'au prochain Congrès, une Section de l'Internationale.

« Résolution VII. - Lorsque des démêlés s'élèveront entre des sociétés ou branches d'un groupe national, ou entre des groupes de différentes nationalités, le Conseil général aura le droit de décider sur le différend, sauf appel au Congrès prochain, qui décidera définitivement. »

C'était mettre entre les mains du Conseil général un pouvoir dangereux, et on eut tort de ne pas en prévoir le résultat.

S’il est un fait incontestable, mille fois attesté par l'expérience, c'est l'effet corrupteur que produit l'autorité sur ceux entre les mains desquels elle est déposée. Il est absolument impossible qu'un homme qui a pouvoir sur ses semblables demeure un homme moral.

Le Conseil général ne pouvait pas échapper à cette loi fatale. Composé pendant cinq années de suite des mêmes hommes, toujours réélus, et revêtu par les résolutions de Bâle d'un pouvoir très grand sur les Sections, il a fini par se regarder comme le chef légitime de l'Internationale. Le mandat de membre du Conseil général est devenu, entre les mains de quelques individualités, comme une propriété personnelle, et Londres leur a paru la capitale inamovible de notre Association. Peu à peu, ces hommes, qui ne sont que nos mandataires, - et la plupart d'entre eaux ne sont pas même nos mandataires réguliers, n’ayant pas été élus par un Congrès, - ces hommes, disons-nous, habitués à marcher à notre tête et à parler en notre nom, ont été amenés, par le courant naturel des choses et par la force même de cette situation, à vouloir faire prédominer dans l'Internationale leur programme spécial, leur doctrine personnelle. Etant devenus, à leur propres yeux, une sorte de gouvernement, il était naturel que leurs idées particulières leur apparussent comme la théorie officielle ayant seule droit de cité dans l’Association; tandis que les idées divergentes émises dans d'autres groupes leur ont paru, non plus la légitime manifestation d'une opinion égale en droit a leur, mais une véritable hérésie. Ainsi s'est constituée peu à peu une orthodoxie dont le siège était a Londres, dont les représentants étaient les membres du Conseil général; et bientôt les correspondants du Conseil pour chaque pays se sont donné pour mission, non plus de servir d'intermédiaires neutres et désintéressés entre les diverses Fédérations, mais de se faire les apôtres de la doctrine orthodoxe, de lui chercher des propagateurs, et de servir des intérêts de secte au détriment des intérêts généraux de l’Association.

Que devait-il résulter de tout cela? Le Conseil général rencontra naturellement de l'opposition dans la voie nouvelle où il s'engageait. L'irrésistible logique l'obligea de chercher à briser cette opposition. Et voilà les luttes qui commencent, et, avec elles, les intimités personnelles et les manoeuvres de coterie. Le Conseil général devient un foyer d'intrigues; les opposants sont conspués, calomniés: enfin la guerre, la guerre ouverte, éclate au sein de notre Association.

Depuis le Congrès de Bâle, en 1869, le Congrès général de l'Association n'ayant pas été réuni, le Conseil général s'est trouvé livré à lui-même pendant les deux dernières années. La guerre franco-allemande a été le motif de l'absence de Congrès en 1870; en 1871, ce Congrès a été remplacé par une Conférence secrète, convoquée par le Conseil général sans que les Statuts l’autorisassent en aucune manière à agir de la sorte. Cette Conférence secrète, qui certainement n'offrait pas une représentation complète de l'Internationale, puisque de nombreuses Sections, les nôtres en particulier, n'y avaient pas été convoquées; cette Conférence, dont la majorité avait été faussée d'avance par le fait que le Conseil général s'était arrogé le droit d'y faire siéger six délégués nommés par lui avec voix délibérative; cette Conférence, qui ne pouvait absolument pas se considérer comme investie des droits d'un Congrès, a cependant pris des résolutions qui portent gravement atteinte aux Statuts généraux, et qui tendent à faire de l'Internationale, libre fédération de Sections autonomes, une organisation hiérarchique et autoritaire de Sections disciplinées, placées entièrement sous la main d'un Conseil général qui peut à son gré refuser leur admission ou bien suspendre leur activité. Et pour couronner l'édifice, une décision de cette Conférence porte que le Conseil général fixera lui-même la date et le lieu du prochain Congrès ou de la Conférence qui le remplacera ; en sorte que nous voilà menacés de la suppression des Congrès généraux, ces grandes assises publiques de l’Internationale et de leur remplacement, au gré du Conseil général, par des Conférences secrètes analogues à celle qui vient de se tenir à Londres.

En présence de cette situation, qu'avons-nous à faire? Nous n'incriminons pas les intentions du Conseil général. Les personnalités qui le composent se sont trouvées les victimes d'une nécessité fatale: elles ont voulu, de bonne foi et pour le triomphe de leur doctrine particulière, introduire dans l'Internationale le principe d'autorité; les circonstances ont paru favoriser cette tendance, et il nous parait tout naturel que cette école, dont l'idéal est la conquête du pouvoir politique par la classe ouvrière, ait cru que l'Internationale, à la suite des derniers événements, devait changer son organisation primitive et se transformer en une organisation hiérarchique, dirigée et gouvernée par un Comité.

Mais si nous nous expliquons ces tendances et ces faits, nous ne nous en sentons pas moins obligés de les combattre, au nom de cette Révolution sociale que nous poursuivons, et dont le programme est: « Emancipation des travailleurs par les travailleurs eux-mêmes », en dehors de toute autorité directrice, cette autorité fût-elle élue et consentie par les travailleurs.

Nous demandons le maintien, dans l'Internationale, de ce principe de l'autonomie des Sections, qui a été jusqu'à présent la base de notre Association; nous demandons que le Conseil général, dont les attributions ont été dénaturées par les résolutions administratives du Congrès de Bâle, rentre dans son rôle normal, qui est celui d'un simple bureau de correspondance et de statistique; - et cette unité qu'on voudrait établir par la centralisation et la dictature, nous voulons la réaliser par la fédération libre des groupes autonomes.

La société future ne doit être rien autre chose que l'universalisation de l'organisation que l’Internationale se sera donnée. Nous devons donc avoir soin de rapprocher le plus possible cette organisation de notre idéal. Comment voudrait-on qu'une société égalitaire et libre sortit d'une organisation autoritaire! C'est impossible. L'Internationale, embryon de la future société humaine, est tenue d'être, dès maintenant, l'image fidèle de nos principes de liberté et de fédération, et de rejeter de son sein tout principe tendant à l'autorité, à la dictature.

Nous concluons à la convocation, à bref délai, d'un Congrès général de l'Association.

Vive l'Association internationale des travailleurs !

Sonvilier, le 12 novembre 1871.

 


 

Les délégués au Congrès de la Fédération jurassienne

 

Henri DEVENOGES, Léon SCHWITZGUÉBEL, délégués de la Section centrale du district de Courtelary;

Fritz TSCHUJ, Justin GUERBER, délégués du Cercle d'études sociales de Sonvilier;

Christian HOFER, délégué de la Section de Moutier-Grandval;

Frédéric GRAISIER, Auguste SPICHIGER, délégués de la Section centrale du Locle ;

Nicolas JOUKOVSKY, Jules GUESDE, délégués de la Section de propagande et d'action révolutionnaire socialiste de Genève;

Charles CHOPARD, Alfred JEANRENAUD, délégués de la Section des ouvriers graveurs et guillocheurs du district de Courtelary;

Numa BRANDT, délégué de la Section de propagande de la Chaux-de-Fonds;

James GUILLAUME, A. DUPUIS, délégués de la Section centrale de Neuchâtel;

A. SCHEUNER, Louis CARTIER, délégués du Cercle d'études sociales de Saint Imier.

 


[Home] [Top]